Skip to content Skip to footer

Chair of Governing Board, ISTIC – UNESCO

Professor ChM Dr. Mohd Basyaruddin Abdul Rahman

Mohd Basyaruddin is a Senior Professor of Chemistry (VK5) at Universiti Putra Malaysia and was appointed as a Distinguished Visiting Scholar at University of California, Berkeley. He received his PhD in Catalysis Chemistry (Southampton) and was a post-doctoral fellow in Structural Biology (Edinburgh). He has secured >RM28 million worth of research grants worldwide in biocatalysis, computational chemistry and nanodelivery, published >260 papers, presented >400 papers, graduated >80 postgraduates, developed >25 patents and won >100 awards. He has received various awards and recognitions globally, most notably the Young Scientist award from various bodies including IUPAC, the American Chemical Society, and the World Economic Forum. He also won the National Intellectual Property Award and was named the Most Outstanding Young Malaysian and Faces of Science@Malaysia for his contribution to engaging youth in science.

 He previously hold various administrative positions including Deanship and Directorship at various institutions. He was the Founding Chairman of the Young Scientists Network and is currently the President of the Malaysian Analytical Sciences Society. He is actively involved in science-related national policy development and review. He also acts as a coordinator and mentor in professional academic training and in countless STEM outreach activities nationwide. He has been inaugurated as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), Academy of Sciences Malaysia (FASc), International Association of Advanced Materials (FIAAM) and Malaysian Institute of Chemistry (FMIC).